Tuesday, September 18, 2012

2012 ICC World Twenty20 - FORMAT

This is the FORMAT of the 2012 ICC World Twenty20:

The format is the same as the 2010 edition. The format will see four groups of three in a preliminary round. Apart from the ten test cricket playing nations, there will be a further two associate/affiliate teams who qualified from the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier staged in the United Arab Emirates on March 13–14, 2012.

The top two teams from each group will proceed to the Super Eight stage of the tournament. The Super Eight will consist of two groups. The top two teams from the two Super Eight groups would play the semi-finals, and the semi-final winners would contest the final to determine the world champions in Twenty20 cricket. England are the defending champions, having won the 2010 edition in the West Indies.

The Super Eight stage consists of the top two teams from each group of the group stage. The teams are split into two groups, Groups E and F. Group E will consist of the top seed from Groups A and C, and the second seed of groups B and D. Group F will consist of the top seed from Groups B and D, and the second seed of groups A and C. The seedings used are those allocated at the start of the tournament and are not affected by group stage results, with the exception of if a non-seeded team knocks out a seeded team, the non-seeded team inherits the seed of the knocked-out team.
During the group stage and Super Eight, points are awarded to the teams as follows:

Win2 points
No result1 point
Loss0 points
In case of a tie (i.e. both teams score exactly the same number of runs at the end of their respective innings), a Super Over decides the winner. This is applicable in all stages of the tournament.
Within each group (both group stage & Super Eight stage), teams are ranked against each other based on the following criteria:

1. Higher number of points
2. If equal, higher number of wins
3. If still equal, higher net run rate
4. If still equal, lower bowling strike rate
5. If still equal, result of head to head meeting.

No comments: